Guy Clark is such a treat for lovers of songwriting. I enjoy how smooth and succinct his songs are arranged. The arrangements keep the proceedings interesting, much like the use of unexpected word phrasings to make sure you are still paying attention. But it also gives you a new perspective. The idea itself that’s being written about does not change, but the storytelling gets a little more sophisticated.

He is the embodiment of craftsmanship. I would love to be an apprentice in his studio although I am not sure he’d accept me. I imagine he would have some sort of application process at is set in stone.  If I could be his student I would learn not only how to fix and build guitars I would similarly learn how to fix and build songs by hand.  Like a blacksmith, Guy possesses deep knowledge of storytelling and musicianship passed down through the generations from one practitioner to another.

Leave a Reply

